OREANDA CHURCH OF INTERCESSION OF THE THEOTOKOS (ROMANOV'S & CHEKHOV'S SITE)
| | Not
possible to drive by big couch into this picturesque area, that`s why
this place is a little far from big tour companies. Hovewer it is very
interesting, nice and romantic. Also it has many slides of history,
connected with antique and mediaval times, several generations of
Romanovs tzar family, Anton Chekhov, Nikholas II, bolsheviks, communist
leaders. You will see also the atmoshere of Soviet State residence, many
socialist world leaders stayed here (one time Fidel Castro was a
personal guest of Leonid Brezhnev).
The Temple of Virgin's
Protection was constructed in 1885 in a Georgian-Byzantine style
following the design of the architect, and academician, A. A. Avdeyev.
Constantine Nikolaevich, the second son of Nikholas 1, who owned Oreanda
Estste spared neither efforts, nor money to have this church
constructed. So, the vindow frames were made of white Carrare marble
brought from Livorno. The vindow panes were yellow-orange glass adding
the church some spetial "sunset" atmosphere. The ground floor of the
church was faced black marble, and from the ground floor up to the icons
its walls were covered with color tiles. The iconostasis was crafed by
the local masters of precious wood species, such as oak, walnut,
juniper. The roof of the church was covered with red tiles of
Marseilles, the dome crowned with a bronze cross.
There are a number
of reasons for the Church to be considere one-of-its-kind. Before the
bolshevics it was boasted eight mosaic panels of genuine Italian smalt,
which is color glass processed with a spetial method, and 45 icons of
the same kind. The smalt was manufactured in the 1880s at a factory of
the famous master Antonio Salviati located on Murrano Island next to
Venice. The interior surface of the church dome is still graced with the
mosaic image of the Savior created by Salviati himself, the image being
one of the three existing in the world.
During the 120
years of its existence the church has been visited by such a large
number of great and just known people we cannot mention all of them. In
19th century the church was attended by Nikholas 2, Anton Chekhov, St.
Ioann Kronshtadtsky. Here Alexander Panarin,a prominent Russian
philosopher and politics analist, coceived an idea of his work "Orthodox
Civilization in the Global World".
In the course of
70 years of the militant atheism reign, the church became fully
desolate. In 1927, after the Yalta earth-quake a wall of the church
developed a crack.
Nowdays the church
was gradually rising from the ruins, the unique mosaic panels having
been restored, more and more people attending the service.
Sveral dozen meters off the church there is
the so-called "Chekhov`s site", which offers an absolutely stunning view
on Yalta. In winter of 1899, Chekhov often
saw Nadezhda Kernovskaya, the daughter of a Yalta priest. They used to
come to the Pokrovsky church and sit on a bench standing just on this
site. Anton Chekhov experienced here everything he put into the mouth of
Gurov , the main character of his story "The Lady with the Dog".
See also about: A.Chekhov in Yalta
A.Chekhov in Gurzuf
|Caterory Name: YALTA TOURS | User: sergoyalta |
|Reads: 1760 | Loads: 0 ||